Forums

ArchSociety :: Forum :: Design Process :: Bubble of Ideas..

« Previous topic | Next topic »
museum for the visually impaired
1 2 
Moderator(s): Array, Array, Array, Array, Array, Array
Author Post
Architect Rafay
Sun Mar 18 2007, 12:30pm Print
Registered Member #255 Joined: Sun Oct 01 2006, 05:58pm
: Karachi
          I am a final year student of Architecture at the Department of Architecture and Planning NED University of Engineering and Technology, Karachi, Pakistan. I am doing my thesis on a museum for the visually impaired people.
       My prime objective in designing an art museum for the blind was to increase the efficiecny of a blind person like that of a normal person. A blind person is mostly looked down upon in our part of the society and he or she feels deprived of the services being provided to them. So i wanted to desgin a museum that would help a blind perosn feel what art is and at the same time it would also be accessible to a person wiht normal eyesight.      I did my research into the use of Biomimicry in architecture and the use of nanotechnology to help me facilitate in my design. Through these i would and want to design a space that is so responsive that it helps a blind perosn navigate through a space without him using a cane or a guard dog. And in case of a catastropy like a fire the space would itself dissovle so that the objects in that space would provide no hinderence when that blind person is trying to espace and that also that the space would guide that person to safety.This is some of the research i looked into.      
nirghum
Mon Mar 19 2007, 04:54pm
Registered Member #26 Joined: Mon Nov 28 2005, 05:52pm
: bits N bites
Frankly speaking, your total approach gone over my head. And that makes me more interested to see what you finally make up. Have you proceed with any thing like design or section design or anything? Im interested to know and see your development.

etipuf
Mon Mar 19 2007, 06:24pm