Forums

Moderator(s): Array, Array, Array, Array, Array, Array
Author Post
Mareike
Mon Oct 30 2006, 07:51pm Print
Registered Member #305 Joined: Mon Oct 30 2006, 06:35pm
dear friends of architecture,
I am a student of architecture at TU Berlin and doing in the moment my final design about the development of Dhaka with the focus of the informal development and settlements. ( I was in Dhaka for almost a year, so I have also some ideas...) I try to work out an typology of informal housing and what are the general basics of informal aspects( you could call it global) and what are the local factors. The interesting thing for me about Dhaka is that the variation of informal housing is starting from the street hawkers and is going until the big developers. Another aspect of my study is the dhaka of the future. Like no other city in this world Dkaka is exploding and grown from a small city to one of the mega cities at all. The size even is still quite small.... So what do you this about all this points? How is your dhaka looking? And where you see some chances for develpment? How are the people that are rooling the system in theory and practice?
For all kind of comments and ideas, articels, maps, drawing, poems... whatever I am really happy....

Edited Tue Oct 31 2006, 03:06pm
mujtaba
Tue Oct 31 2006, 05:23am
Registered Member #14 Joined: Tue Sep 20 2005, 08:54pm
: Honolulu, HI
I am glad that students in Berlin are thinking about Dhaka and its development process. Informal development and settlement patterns in Dhaka should be an interesting study. I would rather like to investigate traditional folk culture and its influence on architecture.