Forums

Moderator(s): Array, Array, Array, Array, Array, Array
Author Post
sanaa
Sun Mar 04 2007, 05:38pm Print
Registered Member #492 Joined: Tue Feb 27 2007, 05:34pm

hello all..........m doin ma thesis on iconitecture(iconic architecture); many global and aspiring global cities have looked to iconic architecture as a prime strategy of urban intervention, often in the context of rehabilitation of depressed areas. The attempt to identify the agents most responsible for this transformation, namely the TCC(transnational capitalist class), and to explain how they operate, suggests that deliberately iconic architecture is becoming a global phenomenon, specifically a central urban manifestation of the culture-ideology of consumerism.

relating iconicity in karachi,s context i studied the high foreign investments and mega projects goin on ,and once the foreign investment comes in ,the need for accomodation becomes prevalent ,and karachi has seen over 90% occupancy and short supply of international quality rooms  as there was less accomodation planned ....so the hotel seems a good option to me as building type.........need some good guggestions on the research area and the building type
NEO
Mon Mar 05 2007, 11:53am
Admin Registered Member #4 Joined: Thu Aug 04 2005, 04:54am
: Dhaka
First of all there are some philosophical conflict around your idea.
Let me ask you a question... 'are you a modernist'? If you believe that you are a modern architect then you must believe in the theory of 'architecture for everyone'. The theories of communism is actually lies in the core of modernism in architecture. That is, architecture will be 'classless', hardcore for mass people.
So where the intension of a design is creating something iconic, saluting the contemporary capitalist trends, then it definitely goes against the concepts of modernism. As I personally still believe in modern theories, I still salute modernist masters... I strongly disagree with your idea.