Forums

Moderator(s): Array, Array, Array, Array, Array, Array
Author Post
Architect Rafay
Mon Mar 12 2007, 09:25am Print
Registered Member #255 Joined: Sun Oct 01 2006, 05:58pm
: Karachi
hi ...
im doign my thesis topic on BIONICS IN ARCHITECTURE... it is the "mimication of nature ideas n structure and using it with the existing human technology to benifit human beings". i studied the characteristics of life.. and came up wiht one important factor of life and that is GROWTH and adaptation with the environment.
i did my research into Bionics which lead me further into NANOTECHNOLOGY... which is doing things at the molecule level. examples of nanotechnology are water repellent paints n glasses that have been mimiced from the nanostructure of the lotus leaf.. that does not allow water droplets to retain on the surface.
then i looked into how this BIONICS AND NANOTECHNOLOGY could be of help to the human life and society and came up wiht the idea of vertical cities....since land is becomign scares beacuse of the constant growth of human population taking every nook and corner that they can inhabbit on this earth and on the same time depleting the natural ecosystem...
THE idea of the VERTICAL CITIES caters these problems.. that are being faced by humans. these cities are more than a kilometer high structures taking into consideration all the basic ideas of a horizontal city.
iw anted to knw wat r ur ideas on this concept... and would it be feasible to live in vertical cities.....
NEO
Mon Mar 12 2007, 05:44pm
Admin Registered Member #4 Joined: Thu Aug 04 2005, 04:54am
: Dhaka
The idea of using bionics and nanotechnology in architecture is interesting. While architects are still thinking of the nuts-bolts of joinery details you have gone far to molecular details

But I couldn't relate the idea of bionics and nanotechnology with the idea of vertical city. Aren't these are two different ideas? You better pin point to one and deal with that.