Forums

ArchSociety :: Forum :: Design Process :: Bubble of Ideas..

« Previous topic | Next topic »
need help to understand the essence of "School of Drama"
Moderator(s): Array, Array, Array, Array, Array, Array
Author Post
Anika
Fri Oct 31 2008, 07:28pm Print
Registered Member #328 Joined: Tue Nov 07 2006, 06:14am
: dhaka
i'm a fifth year student of UAP(university of asia pacific).my project of this semester is "School of Drama".at the begining of this studio we r asked to submit an essay rearding our understanding about the essence of the project...that is the core value....and a concept derived from that.....in which i'm really weak...sad.pngi usually start working with my projects considering climatic issues and function...so this time i'm really in a big trouble and badly need HELPPPPPPPPPPPP..................cry.png
NEO
Sat Nov 01 2008, 03:47pm
Admin Registered Member #4 Joined: Thu Aug 04 2005, 04:54am
: Dhaka
Umm interesting project!
Start thinking from the ‘zero’, as if you never know what ‘drama’ is and what is a ‘school’. Try to point out some important ‘key words’ which may help you to contribute in your process of making architecture. Try finding out some issues which will fuel up your passion for doing the project. Lets try…

So its about a ‘collaborative art’. Drama is somewhat one of the most versatile forms of art. It comprises a lot of brain stimulating activities together. It starts from the ‘literature’ the ‘story or idea’ then it is converted to some written scenes including the characters, environment and the dialogues. Then the issue of portraying the characters which is done by acting, reciting, singing and even dancing. Making the stage sets and the costumes are also a big part of the process. At the end it incorporates some technologies as well, like the lighting, sound, projection etc and of course the audience.
So drama is a result of successful collaboration of a multidisciplinary teamwork.